>>
you're reading...
Project B230FT

Timing Belt Cover Peek-a-boo Hole

It’s a shame that when the timing belt cover kept my camshaft sprocket that has been powder-coated blue hidden from view. I have always fancied on of those timing belt covers seen on tuned engines that has holes on them so you can see their bad-ass sprockets. So, out come the cover again.

A 96mm hole was cut and sanded smooth.

Cover with hole back on the engine.

Close-up of the hole showing the oil scraper ring trim.

A bare hole would look a trifle unfinished; a shiny metal trim around the edge would be nice. After some measuring, I thought that one of the old oil scraper piston rings could be put to good use. So I made a 96mm hole on the cover, sanded it smooth and fitted the ring in. A little silicone adhesive on the inside made sure the ring stayed in place.

Should have made the hole a wee bit smaller though. There’s a gap as the ring ends don’t close up properly. I had cut the hole based on the Redblock bore and it didn’t occur to me to take the actual diameter of the seated side of the ring into account. a 90mm hole would have been just nice; you can always file the ring ends to fit if the hole is too small.

About brickwalla

This is probably my [B]ig [230] [F]reaking [T]errible mistake.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Timing Belt Cover Peek-a-boo Hole

  1. haha

    just a few weeks left your web..now it so much i need to catch it back
    love the hole idea..will copy that for mine đŸ™‚

    Posted by yambest | April 4, 2011, 5:44 pm
    • Glad you liked it. Remember to take your measurement carefully so you don’t end up with a gap like mine. BTW you’ll need a scraper ring with an ‘H’ cross-section so it’ll have lips on both sides of the hole. I forgot to mention that in the post. Good luck!

      Posted by brickwalla | April 5, 2011, 9:40 am
      • thanks for the tips.. for shortcut, i may order the ring from you instead ooking out for myself..or give me some reference to purchase it đŸ™‚

        Posted by yambest | April 5, 2011, 11:54 am
      • You, my friend, are in luck. I have another three from the B230FT. You can text me your address at 0167861235 and I’ll mail one to you.

        Posted by brickwalla | April 10, 2011, 3:29 pm
  2. I tried one day replace the timing chain, but did not give advice. You better have a good mechanic.

    Posted by mario | January 18, 2012, 5:39 pm

Leave a Reply

