>>
you're reading...
Project B230FT

What’s This Sensor For?

Mystery Sensor

I’m stumped. Can’t seem to find any info on this sensor. It’s fitted to the right side of the block, at the back near where the block mates with the transmission. The sensor’s probe points at the flywheel while the wires end in what appears like a test terminal mounted on the engine cover. It is a stand-alone kind of thing; not connected to the car’s wiring harness. Can someone tell me what’s this thing for?

Update 5/3/2011: It’s an Ignition Setting Sender unit, I’ve been told. Hopefully I can find out how it works soon.

About brickwalla

This is probably my [B]ig [230] [F]reaking [T]errible mistake.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “What’s This Sensor For?

  1. realy admire your work… i just got mine 1979 245, planning to get the restoration work done by myself really soon but still looking for some info and guide

    Posted by yambest | March 2, 2011, 3:00 pm
    • Hey Yambest, orang VOCM ni!
      Yes, that’s the hardest part – getting off our butts and starting to do it. When the half-cut first arrived, I just stood there staring at it for weeks not knowing where to start. Even took a wet rag and started to clean that heap of scrap iron for the sake of doing something, ha ha!

      Posted by brickwalla | March 2, 2011, 6:15 pm
  2. yes, another vocm fella just drop by here for some info and guide

    btw, your original engine was 2300cc? i got my originally was 2000cc and then the owner change to another 2000cc engine, so now i got it together with 4 speed manual gearbox plus overdrive button… really enjoy it.

    Posted by yambest | March 3, 2011, 1:48 pm
    • If you find the info here useful, I’m happy. But they are NOT expert opinion as they are mostly based on my experience as a newbie trying some crazy DIY overhaulin’ for the first time. So please take them with a pinch of salt and consult the gurus too.

      Yes, my ride is a 1985 240GL; it came with a 2.3 liter B230A engine, Pierburg carburettor and 5-speed M47 transmission. Yours, I think must be the 244 that came with the B20 engine and the M46 gearbox. Or perhaps it was formerly a government executive car as in those days many government officers were given the 2 liter 240s as their official rides.

      Enjoy your brick.

      Posted by brickwalla | March 3, 2011, 3:52 pm
  3. It is a crank position sensor, or CPS.

    Posted by The Saint | October 5, 2011, 1:14 am
  4. Hi there… Salam from Jakarta!

    that sensor is actually connect to a diagnostic unit that volvo dealer use to examine the engine. so pretty much useless to you i guess. I would remove it & plug the hole.

    I have a 95′ 940 myself and i’m happen to be in KL for some business trip next week. Can you please advise a place to find some volvo accessories. I have been told about Sungai Besi but not sure about it.

    Btw, love what you done with the engine. planning to do the same myself.

    Cheers!

    Posted by Don | August 3, 2012, 11:54 pm
    • Terima kasih, Pak. I’ve tried to remove it but it won’t budge at all no matter what I do, so I guess I’ll just leave it there. As for finding accessories in KL, I’m sorry I can’t be of much help as I live way up north and very seldom go down there. Your best bet would be to visit VOCM’s FB page and ask there.

      Posted by brickwalla | August 6, 2012, 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

